Staff Directory

Main Office
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Human Resources
407 Canfield Administration
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438

Phone: (402) 472-3101
Fax: (402) 472-9040

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Human Resources
Bruce Currin
(402) 472-3105
bcurrin1@unl.edu

Developing the University's Most Valuable Resource

The Department of Human Resources places a high priority on customer service. An important goal of our department is to do what we can to make working at the University a more fulfilling and satisfying experience for all employees.

Our vision: We lead the campus through strategic planning, development, and implementation of systems that provide comprehensive human resource services for all departments, faculty, and staff.

Our mission: We serve our clients with competency, creativity, and empathy. We nurture a culture that fosters growth, diversity, mutual respect, and dignity. We create an environment that achieves excellence through quality, efficiency, professional ethics, and teamwork.

Staff Diversity & Inclusion

Office
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
407 Canfield Administration
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: (402) 472-3104
Fax: (402) 472-9040

Assist and collaborate with colleges and departments in their efforts to recruit and retain diverse staff.

Monitor the recruiting, hiring, advancement and retention efforts of staff at the University of Nebraska Lincoln.

Through education, create an environment for effective cross-cultural communication, cross-cultural engagement and respect of individual differences in the staff community.

Create a welcoming community that is inclusive, nurturing, respectful, supportive, and that fosters inclusive excellence.

Share best practices that advance diversity, inclusion and cultural intelligences. 

Karen Kassebaum, Ph.D. Director 402-472-3104 kkassebaum2@unl.edu

Employment & Compensation

Office
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
407 Canfield Administration
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: (402) 472-3101
Fax: (402) 472-9040

The Employment section advertises job openings, accepts and screens applications for Office/Service positions, and sends appointments confirmation letters for Managerial/Professional positions. The Employment section can also provide career services to all employees and candidates-selection assistance to supervisors.

This Compensation section of Human Resources reviews position descriptions, assigns paygrades to positions, and answers questions about overtime eligibility and other pay issues.

Layton Brooks Director of Compensation, Employment and Employee Relations (402) 472-8076 lbrooks2@unl.edu
Jim Fischer Assistant Director, Compensation & Employment (402) 472-8034 jfischer1@unl.edu
Charlotte Frank Senior HR Facilitator (402) 472-8035 cfrank2@unl.edu
Kelly D. White Assistant Director, Employee Relations / Senior HR Facilitator (402) 472-9849 kwhitehr@unl.edu
Marcy Neeman HR Facilitator  (402) 472-8042 mneeman2@unl.edu
Susan Wendling Employment & Compensation Associate (402) 472-8041 swendling2@unl.edu
Jeffery Norris Senior HR Facilitator (402) 472-8045 jnorris9@unl.edu
Julie Singh Senior HR Facilitator (402) 472-5247 jsingh10@unl.edu

Employee Relations

Office
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
407 Canfield Administration
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: (402) 472-3101
Fax: (402) 472-9040

You may contact the Employee Relations section if you have questions about policies and procedures. Employee Relations personnel can also assist you with resolving problems within the workplace and offer assistance with performance evaluations and corrective or disciplinary action. You may call the Employee Relations section if you want information on training opportunities available at the University.

Layton Brooks Director of Compensation, Employment and Employee Relations (402) 472-8076 lbrooks2@unl.edu
Kelly D. White Asst Director, Employee Relations/Senior HR Facilitator (402) 472-9849 kwhitehr@unl.edu
Marsha Brown Human Resources Assistant (402) 472-3106 mbrown8@unl.edu
Rosalinda Ramirez Administrative Technician  (402) 472-5250 rramirez3@unl.edu

Insured Benefits, Retirement, and Risk Management

Office
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Benefits Office
32 Canfield Administration
Lincoln, NE 68588-0409

Phone: (402) 472-2600
Fax: (402) 472-6803

Online Benefits contact form

The Insured Benefits section administers insurance program, such as health and dental insurance, and reimbursement accounts. This section also administers the retirement program and handles unemployment and workers' compensation claims. Call this office if you need travel insurance or have questions about liability insurance coverage. Please review the New Employee Orientation Insured Benefits website for additional information on the services offered by this office

Gayle Schanou Director of Risk Management & Insured Benefits (402) 472-8641 gschanou2@unl.edu
Lyndi Essink Benefits Assistant (402) 472-8414 lessink2@unl.edu
TBA Benefits Assistant (402) 472-8048
Michelle Tiedtke Benefits Assistant (402) 472-4589 mtiedtke2@unl.edu
Diane Fry Benefits Assistant (402) 472-0937 dfry4@unl.edu

Employee Assistance Program

Office
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
501 Building Room 128
Lincoln, NE 68588
Phone: (402) 472-3107
Fax: (402) 472-8381
Toll Free: 800-755-2655

This program offers no-cost,short term mental health and substance abuse counseling and referral services to employees and immediate family members. You may also call for assistance with any personal, family, or work related problem you may have. Family members may also confidentially contact the EAP free of charge. The EAP can also help with workplace conflict. The EAP can coach supervisors on how to refer employees who they think may benefit from EAP services. The EAP also administers the Emergency Loan Fund, a financial assistance program available to employees who have completed original probation.

Floyd Sylvester Director of EAP (402) 472-3107 fsylvester2@unl.edu
Kyla Gorji EAP Counselor (402) 472-3107 kgorji2@unl.edu
Betsy Tolliver EAP Associate (402) 472-3107 btolliver2@unl.edu

Organization Development

Office
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
407 Canfield Administration
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: (402) 472-3101
Fax: (402) 472-9040

Organization Development Services (ODS) is the practice of helping the University solve problems and reach goals. ODS helps people build the capacity to change, achieve greater effectiveness and improve the quality of work life.

Nancy Myers Director, Organizational Development (402) 472-8033 nmyers1@unl.edu

Ombudsperson

Office
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ombudsperson
407 Canfield Administration
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: (402) 472-3101
Fax: (402) 472-9040

The staff Ombudsperson is available to employees who have been unable to solve a problem within their departments or through established channels. The Ombudsperson, though not empowered to change policy, may be able to facilitate the handling of a problem or may direct employees to the person most likely to help. Discussions with th Staff Ombudsperson are confidential. The ombudsperson is available during normal University hours or at other times by special arrangement.

Layton Brooks Director of Employee Relations (402) 472-8076 lbrooks2@unl.edu