Staff Directory

Human Resources
407 Canfield Administration South
501 N 14th St, Lincoln, NE 68588-0438

Phone: 402-472-3101
Fax: 402-472-9040

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Human Resources
Bruce Currin
402-472-3105
bcurrin1@unl.edu

Developing the University's Most Valuable Resource

The Department of Human Resources places a high priority on customer service. An important goal of our department is to do what we can to make working at the University a more fulfilling and satisfying experience for all employees.

Our vision: We lead the campus through strategic planning, development, and implementation of systems that provide comprehensive human resource services for all departments, faculty, and staff.

Our mission: We serve our clients with competency, creativity, and empathy. We nurture a culture that fosters growth, diversity, mutual respect, and dignity. We create an environment that achieves excellence through quality, efficiency, professional ethics, and teamwork.

Staff Diversity & Inclusion

407 Canfield Administration South
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: 402-472-3104 | Fax: 402-472-9040

Assist and collaborate with colleges and departments in their efforts to recruit and retain diverse staff.

Monitor the recruiting, hiring, advancement and retention efforts of staff at the University of Nebraska Lincoln.

Through education, create an environment for effective cross-cultural communication, cross-cultural engagement and respect of individual differences in the staff community.

Create a welcoming community that is inclusive, nurturing, respectful, supportive, and that fosters inclusive excellence.

Share best practices that advance diversity, inclusion and cultural intelligences. 

Karen Kassebaum, Ph.D., Director of Staff Diversity & Inclusion
402-472-3104 | kkassebaum2@unl.edu

Employment & Compensation

407 Canfield Administration South
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: 402-472-3104 | Fax: 402-472-9040

The Employment section advertises job openings, accepts and screens applications for Office/Service positions, and sends appointments confirmation letters for Managerial/Professional positions. The Employment section can also provide career services to all employees and candidates-selection assistance to supervisors.

This Compensation section of Human Resources reviews position descriptions, assigns paygrades to positions, and answers questions about overtime eligibility and other pay issues.

Layton Brooks, Director of Employment & Compensation, and Employee Relations
402-472-8076 | lbrooks2@unl.edu

Jim Fischer, Assistant Director of Employment & Compensation
402-472-8034 | jfischer1@unl.edu

Charlotte Frank, Senior HR Facilitator
402-472-8035 | cfrank2@unl.edu

Kelly D. White, Assistant Director of Employee Relations / Senior HR Facilitator
402-472-9849 | kwhitehr@unl.edu

Marcy Neeman, HR Facilitator
402-472-8042 | mneeman2@unl.edu

Susan Wendling, Employment & Compensation Associate
402-472-8041 | swendling2@unl.edu

Jeff Norris, Senior HR Facilitator
402-472-8045 | jnorris9@unl.edu

Julie Singh, Senior HR Facilitator
402-472-5247 | jsingh10@unl.edu

Employee Relations

407 Canfield Administration South
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: 402-472-3104 | Fax: 402-472-9040

You may contact the Employee Relations section if you have questions about policies and procedures. Employee Relations personnel can also assist you with resolving problems within the workplace and offer assistance with performance evaluations and corrective or disciplinary action. You may call the Employee Relations section if you want information on training opportunities available at the University.

Layton Brooks, Director of Employment & Compensation, and Employee Relations
402-472-8076 | lbrooks2@unl.edu

Kelly D. White,  Asst Director of Employment & Compensation/Senior HR Facilitator
402-472-9849 | kwhitehr@unl.edu

Calvin Sandidge, HR Technican/Workers Compensation Adminstrator
402-472-5250 | csandidge3@unl.edu

Marsha Brown, HR Assistant
402-472-3106 | mbrown8@unl.edu

Insured Benefits, Retirement, and Risk Management

32 Canfield Administration Building North
503 N 14th St, Lincoln, NE 68588-0409
Phone: 402-472-2600 | Fax: 402-472-6803
Online Benefits contact form

The Insured Benefits section administers insurance program, such as health and dental insurance, and reimbursement accounts. This section also administers the retirement program and handles unemployment and workers' compensation claims. Call this office if you need travel insurance or have questions about liability insurance coverage. Please review the New Employee Orientation Insured Benefits website for additional information on the services offered by this office.

Gayle Schanou, Director of Benefits & Risk Management
402-472-8641 | gschanou2@unl.edu

Adrienne Blake, Benefits Assistant
402-472-8048 | ablake4@unl.edu

Michelle Martin, Benefits Assistant
402-472-4589 | mmartin64@unl.edu

Diane Fry, Benefits Assistant
402-472-0937 | dfry4@unl.edu

Employee Assistance Program

501 Building, Room 128
501 Stadium Dr, Lincoln, NE 68588
Phone: 402-472-3107 | Toll Free: 888-445-9881 | Fax: 402-472-8381

This program offers no-cost,short term mental health and substance abuse counseling and referral services to employees and immediate family members. You may also call for assistance with any personal, family, or work related problem you may have. Family members may also confidentially contact the EAP free of charge. The EAP can also help with workplace conflict. The EAP can coach supervisors on how to refer employees who they think may benefit from EAP services. The EAP also administers the Emergency Loan Fund, a financial assistance program available to employees who have completed original probation.

Kyla Gorji, Director of Employee Assistance Program
402-472-3107 | kgorji2@unl.edu

Valerie K. Williams, EAP Counselor/Trainer
402-472-3107 | vwilliams4@unl.edu

Betsy Tolliver, EAP Associate
402-472-3107 | btolliver2@unl.edu

Organization Development

302 Canfield Administration South
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: 402-472-3104 | Fax: 402-472-9040

Organization Development Services (ODS) is the practice of helping the University solve problems and reach goals. ODS helps people build the capacity to change, achieve greater effectiveness and improve the quality of work life.

Nancy MyersDirector of Organization Development
402-472-8033 | nmyers1@unl.edu

Payroll Services

401 Canfield Administration South
501 N 14th St, Lincoln, NE 68588-0436
Phone: 402-472-2010 | Fax: 402-472-2804
payroll@unl.edu

We are committed to excellence and dedicated to service by:

  • delivering timely and accurate administration of the payroll in accordance with Federal, State and University rules, regulations and policies
  • supporting the ongoing development of the payroll processing system
  • training staff and updating the campus as to changes in rules, regulations and policies
  • promoting the use of electronic methods for transactions and payments
  • providing accurate information and prompt services to the employees and the campus

Cynthia Hruza, Payroll Manager (General questions, payroll reports and uploads, and special check requests)
402-472-3128 |  chruza1@unl.edu

Pat Smith, Non-Resident Alien Payroll Specialist (Foreign student/staff/faculty activities, tax treaties, 1042S statements, and requests for Tax Identification Numbers)
402-472-2010 | psmith1@unl.edu

Carol Neal, Lead Payroll Specialist (PAFs for faculty and monthly Managerial/Professional)
402-472-0078 | cneal1@unl.edu

Nicole Adkins, Payroll Technician (Monthly payroll processing and off-campus time entry)
402-472-0604 | nadkins2@unl.edu

Mindy Weis, Payroll Technician (PAFs for Graduate Students and Affiliates, monthly payroll processing)
402-472-8793 | mindy.weis@unl.edu

Soheila Noureddini, Lead Payroll Specialist (Bi-weekly PAFs and edits)
402-472-1121 | snoureddini1@unl.edu

Joan Sampson, Payroll Technician (Bi-weekly PAFs and edits)
402-472-8606 | jsampson1@unl.edu

Jennifer House, Payroll Technician (Bi-weekly PAFs)
402-472-2033 |  jhouse2@unl.edu

Tina Ahrens, Payroll Specialist
402-472-2856 | tahrens2@unl.edu

Svetlana Chistopolskaya, Payroll Analyst
402-472-7636 | schistopolskaya2@unl.edu

Nancy Wagner, Payoll/Data Managment Manager
402-472-2870 | nwagner1@unl.edu

Ombudsperson

407 Canfield Administration South
Lincoln, NE 68588-0438
Phone: 402-472-3104 | Fax: 402-472-9040

The staff Ombudsperson is available to employees who have been unable to solve a problem within their departments or through established channels. The Ombudsperson, though not empowered to change policy, may be able to facilitate the handling of a problem or may direct employees to the person most likely to help. Discussions with th Staff Ombudsperson are confidential. The ombudsperson is available during normal University hours or at other times by special arrangement.

Layton Brooks, Director of Employment & Compensation, and Employee Relations
402-472-8076 | lbrooks2@unl.edu